Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 27, 2009
Cambridge, UK
This post is part of a set of posts following my project to "E" my Brompton :

A. Wheel Building - Tongxin in Brompton wheel

B. Building a small A123 Battery Pack

C. E-Brompton First Ride/Tweaks

D. Taking a Tongxin motor apart

You may also like to check out daniel.weck's post here which covers the simlar use of Tongxin & Bafang motors and inpired me to give this a go.

A couple of related links as I was building

Throttle Controls

Connectors

Now a few bits are arriving for my E-Brompton project I am going to start a couple of threads. The first is this to follow progress building the Tongxin motor into a Bromtpon front wheel.

A couple of points to make clear from the begining.

1. I have never built a wheel from scratch before :eek:

2. I am using a Tongxin 80mm wide 36v, 260RPM front wheel motor. (Also known as a NANO motor)

3. I am sourcing the motor, controller and other bits from China.

4. I am building the battery myself using A123 cells, see other posts above.

5. Using this motor is not unique. I am certainly not the first or I suspect the last to try the DIY approach.

This motor has been well proven in this application. Tony Castles of the EWC was probably one of the first to do it. EWC has been taken over and you can buy kits from them or get them to do it for you. The new business seems well run and at the time of writing this post they seem to respond promptly to email, calls and enquiries. They told me last week that now they hope to have a turn round time of one week, from when a kit is ordered. Lets hope I don't regret not going down this route. If this is the case my loss will be your gain after you watch this project.

Also at the time of writing this post Freedom E have recently released a kit with a light weight battery.

I am on a steep learning curve when it comes to wheel building so I will be looking for input from some of the experts at it and I know there are a few on this forum.