Which bikes are now the best ?

mitty

Pedelecer
Mar 12, 2007
Hello everbody, great forum, I have been researching electric bikes for the last 4 months with the idea of buying my wife and myself high quality electric bikes as where we live we could cut out 90% of local car journeys. We live in small town in cornwall close to most ammenities, After looking at the bikes on the market I decided that the Giant twist lite was the best way to go ! But now that giant have gone over to hub motors I am looking for better "off the shelf" options. I would like to know if anyone has ridden either the swizzbee 50cc or the biketech flyer bikes as they sound to me like the best users of power from an electric motor. I would like to be able to tow a kidddy trailer (probably a chariot) with the new bikes as we have 2 kids (3 and 5 years old) I am hoping to be able to get the bikes through the cycle to work scheme which is why I'm looking at the higher end of the market. I would reallyy appreciate any help with my quest/questions.
Are there any other good bike companies using a crank drive ?
How does the swizzbee really work?
best battery options ?
towing kids in hilly areas?
where to buy in UK ?
Has anybody heard about the new s series from biketech ?
Has anybody bought their bike through the cycle to work scheme ?

cheers Mitty

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
I've no personal experience of the Swizzbee, Swiss Flyer, or Biketech Flyer, but the difficulty of getting information about these does raise a question mark over how much support you'd have in the UK if there was trouble with any of the sophisticated systems involved. The quality is undoubtedly high, but even the best can fail at times.

The Swizzbee's clever system has the motor driving one part of an epicyclic system, with the pedals driving another part. The sum of the two applied powers drives the bike wheel, an ingenious solution to sharing two power sources in infinitely variable proportions.