Which motor for cycle courier build? (60miles per day)

vulcanears

Pedelecer
May 23, 2018
Hey everyone!

I work full-time as a cycle food courier for deliveroo. I work 6 days a week and average 60+ miles a day.
I live in Brighton, so there are a lof of hills, some of which are 12%.

I'm in the market for a new bike with DIY ebike conversion or prebuilt ebike. I don't really have budget limitations, but the total cost of ownership (buying price+maintainance+replacement parts) over 30k+ miles should be as little as possible.

My requirements:
- very reliable at 60+ miles per day
- low maintainance system
- low rolling resistance
- decent climbing ability on 10% hills
- decent acceleration in stop&go traffic
- most importantly: 100% legal (i want something that has a 250w sticker on it)(i know, police usually don't care, but they will once i'm involved in an accident. I don't want to risk that)

I worked on bikes a lot, so I'm quite experienced with that, but not much with ebikes yet - but willing and motivated to learn and experiment (I love tinkering)

Most bike shops recommend bosch cx systems, but i'm a bit concerned about the running cost of middrive systems, since they are so complex. Any experience from high-milage users? How often does the chain+cassette need to be replaced?

Also i hate the thought of being forced into the Bosch (or any manufacturer) ecosystem and needing to buy their overpriced batteries/parts.

Any thoughts/ideas/suggestions?

tyvm in advance!

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
I'd go for a front BPM on a steel fork, rear rack battery.

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
BTW, the BPM motor needs a new set of ball bearings every 4,000 miles and a new clutch if you carry a lot of weight and ride in all weather.

vulcanears

Pedelecer
May 23, 2018
Could you elaborate why you recommend the BPM front motor over something like the SWX02 48V rear motor?