Wisper 905 rear wheel/rim.

Farmerjim

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 18, 2017
Rugby
Hi, I've been riding a Wisper 905 for a few years now, it was 2nd hand when I got it so I guess it's about 10 -12 years old. Recently I noticed that the rim has started to break up. Its where the brake blocks have been rubbing. [My fault entirely, the wheel buckled and I didn't get it true enough.]
The Bafang motor is fine but , as I say, it's getting on. I think my best way forward is to replace the whole wheel. [26"]
Has anyone any pointers as to what might be a suitable replacement and who to buy one from?
Thanks for looking !

Farmerjim

Sep 18, 2017
Rugby
Best bet is get in touch with Wisper they are always very helpful, David is usually hovering about this forum so he may answer your query.
Thanks for the swift reply.
I've already spoken to someone at Wisper but they're talking of around £360 for a new assembly which, given the age and condition of my bike , is an uneconomic repair. There are so many 26" 36volt conversion kits around in the £120 -£160 bracket , I thought perhaps that might be an answer?

Kwozzymodo

Pedelecer
Sep 9, 2017
Lincolnshire
Can you mount the motor in a new wheel rim - a full wheel build isn’t going to cost more than £100 with all the parts, rim, spokes, nipples - probably less than that.

Reactions: Farmerjim

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
New rim 36h £15-20.
Spokes Sapim Strong £20.
LBS to lace and true £50 -£75.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
Thanks for the swift reply.
I've already spoken to someone at Wisper but they're talking of around £360 for a new assembly which, given the age and condition of my bike , is an uneconomic repair. There are so many 26" 36volt conversion kits around in the £120 -£160 bracket , I thought perhaps that might be an answer?
The cheap kits you talk of will D/D hubs or real cheap gutless geared hubs , stick with Bafang you have and have it rebuilt.

Farmerjim

Sep 18, 2017
Rugby