Woosh Rio FB

mjd1499

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 20, 2017
Ferndown
Hello folks,

As an introduction I thought I'd give you a few of my thoughts as regards the above, owned for about 3/4 months now.

I'm new to ebikes but not MTBs, I'm not as fit as I'd like, (57 and slowing down...), but still have all my bike skills, I'm also a motorcyclist, and wanted to get out and about off road in the New Forest, and when I heard about electrical assistance, well, yes!

The Rio looks pretty good to my eyes, not to all I know, and I liked the idea of the wider tyres. It's a 13 ah version and the only thing I've changed is the seat.

It's not perfect, the chain run effectively means the lower gears are unavailable, such is the offset between cassette and chain ring, not actually a huge issue having the battery, but still, I wish I'd noticed sooner...

It was well packed when it arrived, and assembly was easy, build seems Good, if a little crude in places, but manageable.

Battery life is way better than I expected, in the Forest, 15 to 20 miles never uses more than half and usually only a quarter of available power, and even better on odd occasion I go on the road.

Handling off-road is good if a little heavy feeling to the steering, not a bad thing really, and difficult occasionally to lift the front.

Have to stop now, and just realised this may be more appropriate in the review section, sorry...

Mike

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Reactions: topographer

Tourist

Just Joined
Oct 5, 2017
Newport
Hi mjd1499, I am also a new member and was considering a Rio mtb. Thanks for the info re the gears and chain missalignment, I have seen this hinted at in other posts. I would be interested in seeing any other views you have on the Rio before I decide between this and the oxygen S cross.

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk