work, leisure and fun!

01423frankieboy

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jul 20, 2014
YO51
Hi my name is frank and I live in north Yorkshire. I have been considering buying a Ebike for a few months. Like anyone my age the forum is not big enough to go through my various health issues, LOL. I live 12 miles form my work place. A charitable residential school that works with children that have challenging behaviour.
I have researched various bikes and am thinking of buying a Kudos secret. Lots of reasons why;
a) Small can go in the back of my car so can venture out and explore our great countryside here in N.Yorks. at weekends. I was thinking of driving to various towns and villages and having a cycle round.
b)The children I work with could have a go.
c) fitness and health.
d) the green factor

Can anyone tell me are these bikes any good on hills or will I grind to a halt? I don't want to cycle miles and am not planning to do the tour, I just want something to tootle around on and see the local sites and pop in the local shops but living in NYorks not much is flat.
Thanking you in advance for any advice.
Cheers
Frank

Jonah

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 23, 2010
EX38
It's not really designed as a hill climber but if you're not too heavy it does ok. I'm sure Kudosdave will be along in a bit to share his extensive experience of the bike. I like the Kudos Secret but no doubt others will soon be suggesting the Woosh folders.

Reactions: Jimod

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
Small wheel bikes are naturally better climbers than those with larger 26" to 28" wheels due to the mechanical advantage, so although rated as having a 220 watt motor, it will be much better on hills than that would seem to indicate.

You will need to be able to help with reasonable pedal effort though, as with virtually any other e-bike.

RobF

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 22, 2012
Wherabouts in North Yorkshire are you?

I have a static caravan near Bedale and did a fair bit of cycling chasing after the tour.