Xiong Da 2-speed motor - initial thoughts

nabidana

Pedelecer
Nov 1, 2010
Thanks to the excellent support in this forum, I settled on a Xiong Da 2-speed motor and a 15Ah battery from Woosh bikes. After my first 100km I thought I'd make some observations about how it works fromt eh perspective of an absolute beginner. Some of the assertions I make will be basically wrong, but this is 'as it seems to me'.

I ordered the motor straight from the factory and it arrived with minimal fuss just about 2 weeks after payment. Once it was on the way I ordered a rim (Ryde Sputnik 26) and custom fit spokes, both from the charming and helpful Dylan Thomas at YourSpokes (also trading as Poetry in Motion - which is a necessary trading name if your name is Dylan Thomas). In Ireland there are literally no companies advertising spoke cutting services, such is the size of the population. I have subsequently found a few.

The bike attached to the kit is a now gently customised BH Corona mountain bike, second hand, which looks all beat up to hell but is actually in fantastic condition. I had a shop swap out the fork for a steel one and set up spacers to fix the geometry of the ride. The Xiong Da goes on the front hub.

I built the wheel myself - and was delighted to be told by the shop that the final truing took ten minutes - he thought it was a good job and I was happy to believe him.

The first ride was a thriller - partially because the seat post retention clip was cracked and sheared half way up a dual carriageway, puttting me 20 degrees off centre and compressing my knees into a 38 degree angle for basically the whole stroke for about 5km; but partially because this little motor is fabulous fun.