Yose Power 350w rear drive - Kit review and stuttering fault

GaryMc

Finding my (electric) wheels
Dec 25, 2018
Hello, I am new to ebikes and this forum. I have just installed the 350w Yose power rear hub motor kit, with 13.5ah hailong battery.

First discovery - no controller! After a while, I realised that it was built into the battery base plate. Yose Power really ought to update the instructions and stop including the superfluous separate controller bag in the box.
Otherwise, first impressions were good.

Niggles I encountered when fitting were, firstly, the heads of my 5mm water cage allen bolts were too deep for the slots in the battery mounting plate. Maybe I could have found other screws but I just ground the allen bolts down instead. I also had to use Riv-Nuts to make a few new 5mm cage mounts further up the down tube. Otherwise the battery fouled on the seat post tube. No big deal, but all new to me and a wee bit of a fiddle.

The PAS sensor wouldn't fit as my bottom bracket was an old item with weird plastic retaining rings (without the required 20 splines). So I had to install a new bottom bracket. Having read that there is sometimes not enough room for the sensor, I bought a 127mm length item. Wrong! Too big. So on went a standard 122.5mm and the sensor then fitted ok.

I did appreciate the tools that YosePower supplied. I actually needed a new set of allen keys, so that was handy. Likewise, the crank puller did the job.

The electrical connections seem to be of good quality and well thought out, at least they are a snug fit and look like they would be weatherproof.

The whole build took quite a few evenings as I also replaced the crankset, chain, installed new shifters, brake pads, mudguards and dynamo lighting. The bike itself was a late 90's rigid MTB, made by the Edinburgh Bicycle Coop. It was in fairly sound condition but needed some upgrading.