8.7 million species?

timidtom

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 19, 2009
Cheshire
GambiaGOES.blogspot.com
What's the correct word for different members of a species? Genus? When I was an enthuisiastic driver of MGs, drivers of chrome-bunper models were superior to rubber-bumper drivers: when I played with BMW motor bikes those of us who rode flat twin cylinder models looked down on those less-evolved members who struggled with 'bricks' (4-pot motors). Now, in my impoverished eighth decade I face a quandary: as an ebiker I am looked down on when the genus of lycra-clad cyclists flash past (without answering my cheery "Hello") on the level. They are my superiors. However, when I glide gently past them on my way uphill (they still don't respond to my "Hello!") I may then be a member of a more developed genus.
In view of recent reports of the vastly increased numbers of species inhabiting the planet are ebikers about to be placed in more than one genus? My knowledge of biology is not strong at the best of times. I hope flecc at least will understand!
What will happen when scientists try to classify ebikers according to engine location - front/rear/chain(wheel). How else may we be divided?:)

indalo

Banned
Sep 13, 2009
Herts & Spain
Judging by some of the behaviour patterns exhibited in this forum, I think there may well be a few more than 8.7 million species.

Indalo

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
Ok, I'll bite with a tongue in cheek assessment! :)

Generically, e-bike users are probably closet subversives, unwilling to conform to the majority population preferences but able to use "green" credentials to disguise just how dangerous they might be. In another age they might be inclined to blow up parliament, but with only about a dozen MPs in there at any one time these days, that would be a waste of time anyway.

Of course, as with any dissident group they are split into warring factions