Battery life please.

Tugwell Gibson

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 30, 2016
London
Hi all as a newbie I have probably a silly question to ask. I was told by the dealer that is it best to keep my battery indoors. Fine. Also to keep it topped up. Now unlike many on here. My idea of a good ride is a couple of hours round the parks or woods. I've never used more than quarter of the battery. But by far the most common is half an hour to an hour under 5 miles.

My question is regarding posts I see that talk.about how.many recharge cycles on can expect from a battery. If I'm only using it for half an hour should I not top it up. Does topping up.mean running it down much further before topping ?

Fordulike

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 26, 2010
Hi all as a newbie I have probably a silly question to ask. I was told by the dealer that is it best to keep my battery indoors. Fine. Also to keep it topped up. Now unlike many on here. My idea of a good ride is a couple of hours round the parks or woods. I've never used more than quarter of the battery. But by far the most common is half an hour to an hour under 5 miles.

My question is regarding posts I see that talk.about how.many recharge cycles on can expect from a battery. If I'm only using it for half an hour should I not top it up. Does topping up.mean running it down much further before topping ?
Keeping the battery indoors is probably a good idea. It minimizes chances of condensation lingering inside the casing.

As for charging, I put the battery on the charger after every ride. It means it's always fully ready for the next one.

When I first got into electric bikes, I was like, 'what if this and what if that', regarding battery charging. I don't bother worrying about it these days and just factor in that the battery won't last forever anyway.

• Agree
Reactions: flecc

flecc

Oct 25, 2006