Best Browser For The Mac?

C

Cyclezee

I know I know, there is tons of stuff on the web on this very subject, but I would just like to get the opinions of real people that I trust implicitly.

On the Mac, I prefer Google Chrome probably because I am a relative newbie to the world of Mac and I used it and still do when using Windows.
I'm not huge fan of Safari, but haven't really used it very much.

During the current Malware problems on the forum, I am using Opera which seems to work perfectly if a bit slower than Chrome.

eTim

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 19, 2009
Andover, Hants.
If there is malware on the forum, then it is bound to be targeted at Windows, so using a Mac will provide you with protection in itself.

Most major browsers are platform independent, (with the exception of Windows IE, which ceased support for other platforms a long time ago), which means that browsers should work as well on Windows/Linux as well as on a Mac (depending on other factors such as how powerful the underlying hardware is).

IMO browser choice comes down to personal preference. I have used all the major browsers over the years, Opera was a favourite for a time then Firefox for even longer and now Chrome, it may switch back at any time depending on useability and speed. Safari is excellent if nothing else is available and I see nothing wrong with it, I don't use it as I'm used to the others interfaces, so that is based on useability. Internet Explorer I don't touch with a barge pole based on speed and it appetite for resources.

I find Chrome to be fast, easy to use and set up and uses less resources compared to others.

Changing browser will not provide any more protection against malware as any other browser, they all provide similar levels of protection. If you are a Windoze user, you will certainly need up-to-date AV software and be more careful when using the internet and what you download/click on.

indalo

Banned
Sep 13, 2009
Herts & Spain