Broke connector between handlebar display to controller (Pinacle Mercury)

Lfcrd

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jan 15, 2022
Hello

I was fixing a punctured tyre outside when a gust of wind blew my bike over. Unfortunately the 5-pin connector that connects the handlebar display to the controller cracked and bent all the pins. I tried unbending them and fitting the connector back together but now the bike doesn't work properly.

When I turn it on it displays 4 out of 5 bars of battery before jumping up to five bars (battery is full) and I can adjust the level of assist. It works for about ten seconds when I peddle then suddenly the assist cuts out completely. The assist indicator light pulses three times then goes off and repeats this a few times before the power goes off completely. Here's a video.

I have no experience with electrical repairs whatsoever. Tried contacting Evans customer support and they said to bring it in for a Service (costs £50) and they will go from there. However having read some experiences with Evans I don't have much faith that they would be able to repair it.

I don't have photos of the controller/ motor etc but a post here has photos with an identical bike. And here is a link to the display. Looking at the error messages it seems the error is the last one: "Communication fault: 1. Check the connectors between the EB-BBUS and the controller. 2. Replace the controller.

Can anyone advise what I can do from here? I didn't know the first thing about how ebikes work until I came across this problem so if you could explain in layman's turns that would be very helpful.

Thanks for any help or suggestions.

thelarkbox

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 23, 2023
oxon
can you post pics of both plug and socket and the headset with any id numbers visible.

If the damage is limited to the headset and its plug AND 'we'can identify the lcd headset used a replacement should sort you out.