lacing a motor hub, spokes and watch outs

Jean.Petr

Just Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Dublin, Ireland
Hi, newbie here!

I'm sure this topic has been well discussed elsewhere on this forum so maybe someone can send me the thread, wheel lacing!

I'm getting a front motor and intend to get it laced into a 26" rim for my mountain bike. I won't try this myself (beyond my skill set!) and going to pass it to my local bike shop. I have a recommendation to use Ryde Andra 30 rim and Sapim 'Race' spokes. Another suggestion that Sapim 'strong' is what's best for an eBike?

Is 2 cross lacing the only and best option? Just wondering what the experience of the forum is?

Finally are pre-made up wheel imports all that bad? Attractive to get a wheel all ready to go but I read this is not a good choice?

Thanks, JP

D

Deleted member 4366

You might not be able to use 2-cross. It depends on the diameter of the motor. It should be OK for a small motor.

I use the cheapest Chinese double-walled rims and the cheapest 14g spokes I can find. They work perfectly and I never had a problem despite very rough riding. If using higher grade parts saves a significant amount of weight, it would be worth it for a light-weight build, but a complete waste on a big DD motor.

Maybe you should tell us what you're trying to achieve, then we can make relevant comments.

• Useful
Reactions: LeighPing

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
I have used 2X but it will be easier and just as strong 1X.
The spoke flange angle may be to great and then the nipples don't sit very squarely.
Which hub are you fitting ?

anotherkiwi

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 26, 2015
The European Union
I have 3600 km on a Chinese made 26" wheel with no issues. Yes I did have to tighten the spokes after a hundred km but that is to be expected. My next hub motor wheel will have Sapim stong spokes. Strong just means they are thicker where they go through the hub and so there is no play.

Benjahmin

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 10, 2014