Motor position sensor fault

landroverlandyman

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 9, 2024
Hi everyone, i'm new to this Pedelecs site but so far what i'm seeing is really good. My issue is i run a Kirby ebike 52volt 1500/2000watt converted bike. I'm on year 4 of this brilliant bike i built for leisure. During a ride out i experienced a loss of power so after a struggle home and investigation I realized my 40amp fuse had blown inside the battery case. Changed it it blew immediately, i was lucky enough to have a spare (from Kirby ebikes) controller which is a KT36/48zwsrcld 17amp . After connecting it up and pressing the throttle i now get "Motor position sensor fault" the wheel spins momentarily and then needs a power down and back on to do the same again. Any advice please..

saneagle

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 10, 2010
Telford
If the fuse is blowing, you probably have a blown MOSFET in your controller. Actually, I'm surprised that 17A KT controller would last that long with a 1500w high speed motor because it would be drawing maximum power most of the time on level 5.

It would be indicated by the motor kicking or jerking. Is it kicking or turning under power before it cuts?

Either way, you can test by measuring the resistance between each battery wire and each motor phase wire. In each group of three, the resistances should be the same and in the range 5k to 20k.

landroverlandyman

Feb 9, 2024
Thanks for replying so quickly. I agree with you the 17amp controller seems to small hence why i have had 3 of them including this spare one. Can i just say the fuse is NOT blowing now the new controller is fitted.

I cannot fault the kit it's fantastic and i use the bike regularly with no issues.

The tests you have suggested is what i will try now. Thanks

Would you know if i can simply unplug the hall sensor plug ? Or do i need a sensor less controller for that. ?

saneagle

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 10, 2010
Telford