This brake suitable for BBSO1 overclocked?

flik9999

Pedelecer
Dec 11, 2016
london
Hey so I have a bbso1 250w which I plan to overclock to get me about 25 mph.

I havn't installed it yet as im thinking I need a good brake before I go ahead. Unfortunatly I cant change the fork so disc brakes are out. My plan was to have some V brake bosses welded on and then fit the magura hs11, this would cost me about £40 for the welding and then £50-60ish for the brake.

But then I found this brake, it fits a caliper so I wouldn't need to weld anything and it comes pretty much ready assembled and bled so I would just have to take my current brake out and pop this one in.

Would you trust this brake? I have no experience with hydraulics but I know that caliper brakes tend to be weak and V brakes strong. Does this carry over to the hydraulics world eg are V brake hydraulics way stronger than hydraulic calipers?

https://www.bike-discount.de/en/buy/magura-hs33-r-urban-2-finger-lever-single-brake-left-right-front-black-257528

Reactions: LeighPing

anotherkiwi

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 26, 2015
The European Union
In theory this should make the brake as strong as a hydraulic V-brake. Hydraulics adds the incredible force you can't achieve by pulling manually on a wire. Your weak point will become your rim, I don't know if they are designed to stand up to that much side pressure.

My vote is go for it.

• Agree

flik9999

Pedelecer
Dec 11, 2016
london
Bought it, will see what happens. Rims can easily be replaced, I imagine if the rim is the weak point it will be the same with this as it would be with a hydraulic v brake.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
What do you mean by overclocking ?

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH