Difference between 44t and 46t chain ring

Simonwwfc

Pedelecer
Apr 14, 2020
Guys as I’m fairly new to ebikes I am changing my front chain rings to a single one I tried to order a 44t but this is out of stock they have offered me a 46t will I notice the difference?

sjpt

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2018
Winchester
As long as the chain is long enough you are unlikely to notice the difference. It probably is if you are moving from a triple, and you many want new chain as well anyway if the triple is at all worn.

I doubt you'd notice much difference even if you had them installed at the same time and could switch between them; even on a regular bike and especially on an ebike.

Reactions: Simonwwfc

Ballynoes

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jul 13, 2017
Perthshire Scotland
Hi, not sure what you mean by the front chain ring, if it's the one beside the pedals at the motor they are usually much smaller than 44t, mine for example is 11t.

What make and model of bike is it, it might help us to help you.

• :D
Reactions: Artstu

sjpt

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2018
Winchester
As you say depends on the motor. For a hub motor you will definitely have conventional gearing; with a chain rings typically in the 44t range (almost all from 26 or even less to 52).

Some crank motors use a small chain ring to help with gearing, but most have gearing in the motor so that they use conventional size chain rings.

Kwozzymodo

Pedelecer
Sep 9, 2017
Lincolnshire
A 46 will be harder to pedal than a 44 in the same gear, for sure. You need to look at your lowest and highest cogs on the cassette to work out if a 46 will be too hard. When I went from a 34/50 to a single 40-tooth, I found I was using the higher gears almost exclusively. Getting up steep hills is harder in a 40/32 gear (versus a 34/32), but my view is that if its not hurting, its not working! So I am happy to compromise.

sjpt

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2018
Winchester