Help with bike

memac

Finding my (electric) wheels
Mar 21, 2016
Hi there i was asked to start a new thread and post some pics after my first post. This was the post i made (Hi there new to all this and this may not be the correct place to post this. I seem to have made a complete mess of buying a motored wheel.I am 56 and unfit I work as a private hire driver my neighbour offered me an older ebike with a 250w motor however due to the fact that I am about 30 kilos over the max load capacity it struggles even on very slight inclines.So silly me thought a bigger motor would help so I bought a 500w motor then on doing some research (yes I now know I should have done this first) I find I cannot fit this to the bike as it is not legal in the UK and it would basically be a moped and would need to meet all the same requirements otherwise I would be putting my driving licence at risk of points or a ban which would not be very good I feel that if it is not legal to use the wheel then it should not be legal to sell said wheels in this country.) I should also mention that I live in central Scotland in an area called the braes so hills everywhere lol anyway I will post the pics hopefully you can give me some help.

Attachments

memac

Mar 21, 2016
I think i have posted this thread in the wrong place can a mod move it thanks.

Alan Quay

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 4, 2012
Devon
Hi, and welcome.

First off, changing the motor for a bigger one won't make any difference, unless the one you have is broken.

The amount of power is regulated by the controller, by modifying the current (Amps)

It's possible to modify the controller to give a bit more current by applying solder to the shunt. Someone can talk you through this if required.

First off though, you should check the battery is OK. Have you got a multimeter, and can you tell us what voltage the battery gives when fully charged?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

memac

Mar 21, 2016