Motor + Pedal

RossG

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 12, 2019
Hi all..
I'm new to the world of E-bikes so please bear with me. I've just purchased a 20 in folding E-bike, 250w hub motor 10 amp battery. Having tweaked the settings on the LCD display I find it reaches around 19 mph on pas level 5, I'm no youngster so that's plenty enough speed for me (on a folder at least).

Now if I put the bike on a work stand and turn the crank like heck I can of course get the speed well beyond it's 19mph powered limit, but is the motor still assisting me ?
If the speedo reads 25mph am I actually using the amount of effort it takes to add 6mph to the max motor speed, or am I really turning the rear wheel 25mph myself.
The reason I ask this is that it does seem to take quite a lot of effort to add that 6mph, certainly more than just coasting at that speed.

Ross..

wheeliepete

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 28, 2016
Devon
If the motor cuts at 19 mph or has reached the max. speed it can physically turn at under electrical power, then you are providing all the effort above that speed. On the flat or slight downhill you may find it fairly easy to maintain your higher speed, but a slight incline will need considerably more effort to do so. Once your speed drops to below 19 mph it will then become alot easier because the motor is now assisting you again.

RossG

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 12, 2019
All that make sense of course. The bit that puzzles me is if the motor keeps turning no matter how fast you can pedal and you're cycling at 25mph, then it's supplying 76% of the power (I think), the other 24% is down to your peddling. Perhaps it just me but it just seemed to require a fair bit of cranking to reach 25mph on the display, but as I said this was a quick test on a bike work stand it might feel different on the road.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH