Vengeance battery not charging

Baraca

Finding my (electric) wheels
Mar 12, 2021
Hi guys I'll preface this with the fact that I have no idea about electrics and am a complete noob. My vengeance e bike was sitting up for about 3 months because I broke the charger. I recieved a new charger today. When I plug the charger into the battery the light stays green and the battery does not charge.

When I press the button on the battery the lights do light up but then go off again. I've read that the battery may be after going below a certain level and won't charge now. Is the battery fixable? Or should I just buy a new one? Where do I get a new one if so? Can't find them amywhere

Thanks so much for your help

cyclebuddy

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 2, 2016
Beds & Norfolk
There are things you can test: i.e. what is the battery voltage? If it's too low, the battery has a lower limit below which it won't charge. There are posts on this forum that explain how you can open it up to test individual cell-strings and correct those strings/cells that might be too low. You'd need a basic multi-meter and know how to use it.

If that's too difficult, Halfords sell replacement new batteries. It depends on the age of your bike as to which model of battery you need, but they're here:

Electric Bike Chargers & Accessories | Halfords UK

Sometimes you can find the same battery on ebay - usually from Europe, but that might be difficult/costly/take a long time importing now since Brexit.

Then there's ebike batteries whose adds appear on this site: Well reputed. He can re-cell your old battery with new cells of your choosing. He also sells suitable chargers which - he says - can often recover batteries which have discharged too far. He advertises these on ebay under the trading name of insat.

Last edited:

Baraca

Mar 12, 2021