Who likes Crank-drives?

• Thread starter Deleted member 4366
  • Start date

John F

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 3, 2013
Did they have nice big fat chains on or just the usual "wears out in 5 minutes' skinny derailleur type?!

D

Deleted member 4366

Did they have nice big fat chains on or just the usual "wears out in 5 minutes' skinny derailleur type?!
I didn't look too close. There were so many of them, that some of them are bound to be good

trex

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 15, 2011
crank drive bikes will always be more expensive than hub bikes.
If you can sell a crank drive for 50p then someone will sell the hub equivalent for 45p.

paul b

Pedelecer
Apr 20, 2014
I am a newbie but wouldnt the speed and power of these drives wear a chainset out very fast ?

Gubbins

Esteemed Pedelecer
I am a newbie but wouldnt the speed and power of these drives wear a chainset out very fast ?
Interesting comment.. I have done 1500 miles on the original chain with only a small amount of stretch /wear (using the park chain wear tool). I expected it to wear out quickly given the extra strain it's exposed to.

trex

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 15, 2011

paul b

Pedelecer
Apr 20, 2014
I suppose its how hard you push it trex i wouldnt like the idea of the chain breaking and causing damage

trex

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 15, 2011
not so much as breaking but more a case of stretching and wearing. The rear sprockets, especially the smallest sprocket (12 teeth) gets used a lot on flat roads. Average expected lifespan is 1,500 miles for 1% chain stretch. The cost of replacing chain and freewheel is about £15-£20 for Woosh CDs, about £30-£40 for German bikes.

John F

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 3, 2013
My CD chain lasted about 700 miles. Rear sprocket also pretty worn. There are a couple of chain manufacturers who produce CD specific chains and seem to promise good life. I plan on checking one of them out this summer.