500 miles minus one car minus 6Kg plus 600 pounds = happy

rosjen

Pedelecer
Oct 27, 2008
For the start of this journey into ebikes see this post http://www.pedelecs.co.uk/forum/electric-bicycles/6113-my-19-year-old-gt-mb-conversion.html.

As you can tell from the subject I am very happy with my results & decisions.

About 3 years ago I started having ectopic beats, the SVTs (Supraventricular tachycardia) kind, and this seriously dented my confidence (I was 39 back then). The cardiologist assured me that my heart was in good condition to maintain a working heart rate, so the old bike came out and I started riding to work.

On the 4th day, I finished my 5 mile trek into work and my heart doubled in speed, with it being 140bpm at the time, it went up to almost 280bpm (recorded)! Let me tell you that 5 seconds is a long, long time at 280bpm, I honestly thought I was going to die then and there. Again, I went to the Docs but to be honest they didn't give a BROWN LOG, statistically, I don't fit a risk profile and after every test in the 'Beginners Book To Cardiovascular Function' they don't even discuss it anymore. So with them not giving a flying fornication and my own lack of self confidence my health went downhill fast.