Hello from UK/China

Supermoto

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 19, 2017
UK
Hi,

I'm working out in China and am looking for something to do to fill my time and to get around. I can't get a drivers license here so that rules out a car or motorbike so I started looking at e-bikes. There are hundreds of scooter-type bikes available for next to nothing but I'm quite tempted by an assisted mountain bike as it would be something I could get some enjoyment out of and hopefully get a bit fitter too.
The Haibike xDuro hardseven 4.0 with a derestriction dongle looks pretty good from the initial research I've done but I'm new to bicycles and e-bikes so I'm open to suggestions!

SM

• Informative
Reactions: LeighPing

Tugwell Gibson

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 30, 2016
London
I'm probably not the only one thinking that if you go for a chinese built bike its a bit like a kid in a sweetie shop. But presumably you want to do some proper mountain biking.

Supermoto

Sep 19, 2017
UK
Yes, you're right! There are some amazing scooters available for a few hundred quid. However, I'd like to get in better shape and also get into mountain biking and trail riding. Also, the Chinese quality can be ... "questionable".

Tugwell Gibson

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 30, 2016
London
I was thinking about all the bikes we have for sale here that are mAnufactured and shipped over from China. Admittedly not the German ones. But most of the others. Oxygen, wisper, Woosh, juicy bike.

Reactions: Supermoto

anotherkiwi

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 26, 2015
The European Union
I was thinking about all the bikes we have for sale here that are mAnufactured and shipped over from China. Admittedly not the German ones. But most of the others. Oxygen, wisper, Woosh, juicy bike.
Yes but they are mostly made for the export market... :D

Tugwell Gibson

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 30, 2016
London