Hello, I'm new!

mishabgt

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jun 23, 2011
Hi all, I'm Mike from Ipswich.
Currently I ride a fully pedal powered Schwinn Moab1 but am looking for an electric bike to commute and to give assistance towing my son.
I'm completely new to electric biking but want to learn, hence I'm here.

Hi welcome to the site.Have you considered a trike for getting your son around.I love mine, my sons far to old to go on the back but it might be safer for you both.The other traffic on the road gives you a wider birth, your more stable and you can carry your shopping aswell.

scarrabri

Pedelecer
May 14, 2011
Stoke on Trent
Hi
mishabgt

you will love it on here ,really nice folk ,you can get it wrong on here ,and help will flood in ,and our double act Funky and Farthing will leave you in stitches,very best wishes Brian.

Last edited:

steveindenmark

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 10, 2011
Hi Mike,

Welcome to the forum.

I am not sure what you are looking for but you will get plenty of suggestions on here.

I am also new to electric bikes and have had my Tonaro Enduro for 2 weeks. I am so impressed with it that I have just ordered my girlfriend an Tonaro Compy.

It has a motor in the crank as opposed to being in the hub of a wheel. This means I can turn the power off and use it as a normal bike. Here is my girlfriend doing just that while I am struggling to keep up on my racing bike.

YouTube - ‪Tonaro Enduro-WITHOUT power‬‏

My bike is from Powerpedals but you will also get great reports from Wisper bikes and Juicy bikes as well as all the self build guys. It really is a minefield, but also great fun.

Do lots of research and test lots of bikes is the general advice.

You will love it when you get one though.

Steve

JuicyBike

Trade Member
Jan 26, 2009
Derbyshire
Hi Mike
What length of journey wil you be making and what is you and your sons combined weight? I know Ipswich is relatively flat, but just to be sure, any hills on route?
...and welcome to the forum!