Newbie here!!

catlewis

Just Joined
Apr 26, 2011
Hi Everyone!

I've been lurking on these forums for a while now so thought I would sign on up!

I'm looking for an electric bike to use for work. Work is only around 3 miles away but there is no way I would be able able to commute there in a non elec bike. I live in Bristol where there are massive hills everywhere! I'm sure after a while I would be able cycle up them (because I would be getting fitter) but I need a helping hand!

Anyway, I'm looking for a reasonably price bike (I don't have a budget per-se I just want the best bike for my needs), that would suit a beginner. However, I don't want to have to buy a better bike any time soon. I want something that looks good and more like a normal bike. I guess essentially I need a mid range bike.

I hope you can help!!

Thanks in advance!

Cat

PennyFarthing

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 25, 2011
Cat, how did you get on in your search? Are you still looking?

Penny

indalo

Banned
Sep 13, 2009
Herts & Spain
Hi Cat and a somewhat belated welcome to the forum.

Echoing what PennyFarthings has asked, are you settled yet on a particular model or perhaps you've compiled a shortlist by now? It seems like the choice of ebikes on the market grows almost daily which possibly makes purchase even more confusing. I'm sure you've taken on board the advice freely given in the forum and read the brickbats and bouquets supplied by owners of various brands so I, for one, would be interested to know how your search is progressing.

There are so many styles and systems available out there, it can be difficult to determine which particular bike is the right one for you but, as one who lives in a hilly area, I will say that if you buy any bike that doesn't cope easily with hills, you'll probably tire of it quickly and give up. Forgive me stating the obvious but only those bikes known to make hill-climbing easy should feature on your list.

Do let us know Cat.

Regards,
Indalo

catlewis