Newbie, needs advice on which bike and maybe USA Smart EBike?

cjd

Pedelecer
Jan 23, 2013
Good afternoon everyone

I am new to electric bikes but have been riding bikes 30 plus years. Its my only means of transport as I have an eye condition meaning I cannot drive.

I am now looking for my first electric bike. I am a big chap, 6ft and 19 stone. I live in a hilly area and would like something that could do around 40 miles between daily charges.

Also I appreciate the legal speed limit, but an "off road" function would be great too. I need both pedal assist and also throttle on it owns.

I loved the look of the Smart e Bike but saw the American version was more powerful. Anyone have any ideas how to get one over here?

Also, if you have suggestions for bikes around £1k mark that would be most welcome.

Thanks again
CJD

D

Deleted member 4366

If you're handy with the spanners and a soldering iron, you can make your own for about £700. I don't think that there's any ready-made bikes that can do your range and have enough power to get you up the hills apart from Frank's new Xipi bikes. Welcome to Xipi. That Smartbike iis more of a city bike than one to drag people like us up hills, and even if you could get the higher power version, you wouldn't be able to go very far on it.

Maybe the A2B bikes as well.

Last edited by a moderator:

Alan Quay

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 4, 2012
Devon
Building your own has many advantages, as you can spec it to do exactly what you need, and possibly convert a bike you already own. You don't need to be all that spanner capable, especially if you go for front drive hub motor.
I reckon an 8fun front hub kit with a 20ah lithium battery would cover it, although I think 40 miles is pushing it a bit. Prob closer to 30.
Cost for a kit like that would be somewhere near £500 (delivered), then obviously you need a bike, and a free afternoon.

banbury frank

Banned
Jan 13, 2011
Hi CJD