Powabyke X24 Cutting Out

tony6403

Pedelecer
Mar 31, 2009
I have been using my X24 for 18 months with no problem until yesterday.
I went on a 12 mile ride starting with a fully charged battery.
Going up the steep hill to get back to my house I used full power and the motor began cutting out and then re-engaging in a very jerky fashion but apparently with plenty of reserve when it did kick in for 3 or 4 seconds several times.
I have recharged the battery and now all seems well.
I have never run down the battery, as far as I know , to a point where it is exhausted . I had expected that a low battery would die off gradually. I had also expected that a 12 mile journey with lots of input from me would not use up the power in the battery.
Is this normal?

aseb

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 12, 2009
I have been using my X24 for 18 months with no problem until yesterday.
I went on a 12 mile ride starting with a fully charged battery.
Going up the steep hill to get back to my house I used full power and the motor began cutting out and then re-engaging in a very jerky fashion but apparently with plenty of reserve when it did kick in for 3 or 4 seconds several times.
I have recharged the battery and now all seems well.
I have never run down the battery, as far as I know , to a point where it is exhausted . I had expected that a low battery would die off gradually. I had also expected that a 12 mile journey with lots of input from me would not use up the power in the battery.
Is this normal?
Yes, it's how mine behaves with the low capacity battery that comes with the bike. Because it's low capacity it gets eaten into when hill climbing.

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
Yes, this is normal, it's a very small battery on these models.

Patrick

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 9, 2009
This is normal, the stuttering is caused by the controller cutting off the motor to protect the battery.