70 plus years on me bike

PeterW

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 15, 2014
Hullo , just joined Pedelecs ( with help from Helen as I'm a bit of an amateur with computers ) But I am very impressed with the forums and all the knowledge on our favourite pastime . Yes , I am in my eighties and , weather permitting , manage 8 to 10 miles a day on my Giant Halfway folder . my favourite bike in the past was the " Curly Hetchins " But now quite happy to study Mother Nature as I plod along . So keep on pedalling folks and reclaim the highways and byways from the internal combustion engine . PeterW

Reactions: Richard T. Jensen

twinkle

E-Triker
May 14, 2013
Peacehaven nr Brighton
" Curly Hetchins " and H E Bates , and the Raleigh fork tops all part of amateur cycle racing in the 50's when even frame name advertising was not allowed . I saw a Hetchins trike with a front wheel e-motor a couple of weeks ago .
May you have fair weather and sunny days to study mother nature on your way ,,
BTW I have a 1951 Hobbs of Barbican Blue Riband road bike .
oh the memories of real handmade bikes .

regards emma

PeterW

Sep 15, 2014
Yes , Emma , I had a bike made to my spec in 1951 by F.C.Parke's in Swansea while serving in the RAF at St Athens , it lasted me for many enjoyable years . My pal used swan around on his Paris Galibier till the frame cracked !! Heady days indeed .

twinkle

E-Triker
May 14, 2013
Peacehaven nr Brighton
Another rave from the grave -- Paris .

I met Les Parker almost 30 years ago who was a Frame builder for Hobbs and he recognised the frame as one that he had built and gave me the replacement transfers for it., I bought it second hand from a Guy in Sussex who was one of the first to gone "under the hour " in a 25mile time trial .
I also had a Wally Green Road frame , I wonder how many more of these classics are out there .