adjust brakes

billyboya

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 10, 2016
uk
Hi all Im not very good at all this but looking at this photo of my back brake, whats best way to adjust this, as at the moment its not pulling brake on. obviously the wire attached to lever moves to the right when pulling on brakes, but i cant seem to find how to adjust them

sjpt

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2018
Winchester
Main problem is a nut missing where the cable goes through the left side rotating arm (left of the spring). That means the cable is not pulling anything.
When the nut is in you have course adjustment by (a) loosen the nut, (b) pull cable through, (c) tighten the nut.
Fine adjustment where the cable goes through the fixed post on the right (right of the spring). (a) back of the right hand (lock) nut, (b) adjust with the left hand nut (the nut next to the post), (c) retighten the lock nut.

Often a good way to adjust is first to get the course adjustment about right. (a) loosen the course adjustment nut, (b) arrange the fine adjustment to half way, (c) course adjust, pull the cable as tight as possible with the left rotating arm pulled to the brake engaged position, (d) tighten the course adjustment nut. The brakes will now be locked on.
Now back up the fine adjustment so the brake is not locked on, but a smallish pull of the brake lever engages it.

When doing adjustment make sure that wherever brake cable outer segments end the cable outer segments are properly seated. This applies especially at the brake lever.

Last edited:

WavyDavy

Finding my (electric) wheels
Apr 7, 2019
There seem to be few nuts and bolts missing. There should be a nut and bolt anchoring the torque arm and also a nut and washer on the cable clamp. Once the cable is clamped and the spring on the little nib on the lever you can adjust the brake with the adjuster on the end of the outer cable.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH