Best replacement for Raleigh Dover?

Diamonds

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jan 4, 2020
Hello - I'm new to this forum and would be really grateful if someone can advise me on finding a replacement for my much loved Raleigh Dover (which finally died in November).

I work as a gardener so used my Raleigh Dover to pull my trolley full of tools. I can only afford a second hand bike and made the mistake of buying a Giant twist lite, again second hand. It's fine & in perfect condition but not strong enough to pull my trolley up hills - especially after a hard day's work. I'd like to resell the Giant and buy another bike secondhand. I'd be really grateful if anyone could advise me on what I need to look for. I'm guessing it's all to do with the motor in order to make sure the bike's got enough power. I need to buy second hand as I can only afford up to about £600. I don't need it to go long distances.

(I've been looking at a Raleigh Array on Ebay but I think perhaps the motor is not powerful enough for what I need)

Thank you!

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
if you are not too far from Southend, bring the Raleigh Dover to my shop.
I may be able to fix it for you.

Reactions: RobF

Diamonds

Jan 4, 2020
if you are not too far from Southend, bring the Raleigh Dover to my shop.
I may be able to fix it for you.
Thank you that's really kind but it's too late! I got it looked at by our local bike shop and as well as the battery being dead too many other parts were worn out or broken for it to be worth fixing. Basically I ran it into the ground! I sold it for spares.

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
have you looked at conversions?
it's an excellent way to get exactly what you need without breaking the bank.

RobF

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 22, 2012
Thank you - I have looked at them but I think a standard electric bike is what I need.
Which Dover did you have?