Cytronex motor prob

Rowlandsbond

Just Joined
Jul 16, 2016
London
Hi all I'm new to this ebike lark, having bought a cytronex merida t3 second hand. Was enjoying it enormously but suddenly the power seems to have vanished. The motor spins if the bike is off the ground. But when I'm riding I can hear a noise as if the motor is running but there's no noticeable assistance. If I turn the pedals with the bike off the ground the front wheel spins, but if I slow it with my hand it takes no effort to stop it spinning and it judders...

Any thoughts would be most appreciated.

oldtom

Esteemed Pedelecer
Hi all I'm new to this ebike lark, having bought a cytronex merida t3 second hand. Was enjoying it enormously but suddenly the power seems to have vanished. The motor spins if the bike is off the ground. But when I'm riding I can hear a noise as if the motor is running but there's no noticeable assistance. If I turn the pedals with the bike off the ground the front wheel spins, but if I slow it with my hand it takes no effort to stop it spinning and it judders...

Any thoughts would be most appreciated.
There isn't really a lot goes wrong with the Cytronex system but if it's outside the scope of your electro/mech ability, I'd suggest you book it in with the guys down at Winchester who can usually resolve issues and turn the bike round, ready to ride again in a couple of hours or so. It's a pleasant place to walk around if you've never been there and doesn't take too long to get to from the London area.