HESC issues

TPH

Just Joined
Nov 25, 2021
Hi to all. Newbie here, so please cut some slack if format is wrong.
Currently a 3 ebike house. I have a Haibike Cross 6 2 years old and still great. My wife has just got a Cube Touring Hybrid Pro easy access, this also seems good so far.
Problem child is the Haldords Carrera crossfire ladies that we have had for a few years.
Battery connector terminal housing broke, but was able to repair, had to strip down in that area to get access. Since putting back together the speed reads zero, regardless of actual, and bike turns off after 10 minutes, even if in use.
I guess the bike thinks it is stationary and goes into auto off.
I have looked for damage wires it the area, but can not see anything obvious.
Believe the speed sensor is in the hub, the wire into the hub looks undamaged and the plug looks fine, all contacts present and nice and shiney.
The power side of things is all good. Bike rides well and the walk assist is all good. Just the speedo issue.
Any tips or pointers would be gratefully received.
Tim

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
Likely without a speed reading the shut down may be due to either a failed hall sensor, speed magnet in the hub has come unstuck or broken wire.
One can test the Hall with a meter via the motor wiring. Find the thin Black hall wire to the motor and place your probes on that one and the speed sensor wire, rotate the wheel slowly backwards by hand and one should see the voltage switch on & off/5v - 0v for a functioning hall. If this is ok then either the hall magnet has come loose or the wire is broken, if the hall doesn't switch then it has to be replaced.
If one gets no voltage reading at all then it is a wire connection issue.

TPH

Just Joined
Nov 25, 2021