Help! Hi. I am brand new to the electric bike world.

Mandyxxx

Just Joined
Mar 19, 2022
Brentford
After searching through websites and reviews, I thought I had found the perfect bike. However, Halfords Cycle to Work are financing my purchase and the max I can get from my employer is £1000.
I would love to buy the Eskute Voyager mountain bike, for a combination hill/road commute to work. I cannot find a supplier that sells this bike and accepts the Halfords vouchers.
I reluctantly found an alternative on ebikes.co.uk and so far the reviews are good.
Does anyone know a supplier of Eskute bikes, who take Halfords vouchers, or is the alternative worth buying?

Any advice gratefully accepted.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
1k isn't nowhere enough for a cycle to work scheme, ideally it should be any amount up to 2k or 3k.

Bonzo Banana

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 29, 2019
The eskute seems to have a generic low end fork and a low end freewheel based drivetrain. It looks to be a bike with low end components. The Bafang motor and decent capacity battery are a positive part of the spec so it seems like good ebike components but pretty dire bike components in my opinion. Halfords vouchers I would assume are only taken by Halfords group companies which is basically Halfords and Tredz.

£1000 doesn't go hugely far with an ebike but the eskute isn't a mountain bike its mountain bike style, at best its as capable off-road as a gravel bike but with that low end drivetrain I'd say that is debatable.