New to pedelecs, wish to convert push bike

HandsOffEngineer

Just Joined
Mar 13, 2019
Hello,

I am completely new to pedelecs, but have cycled regularly all my life. I would like to convert my simple push bike and I am looking for advice on how to start.

I have a very small budget and have noted the ebike conversion kits on eBay, which are priced at around the £100.00 to £150.00 mark. Can anyone here recommend a particular supplier?

Based on my research so far, I think I should be looking for something at around 36V. I am planning to use the bike to commute to a part-time job, which will be a 40 mile round trip through hilly countryside.

Thanks

soundwave

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 23, 2015
not going to happen for that budget not even close for the range and mileage esp with hills the bat is going to be a fair chunk of the total price and 5x your budget on its own.

• Agree
Reactions: tommie

Benjahmin

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 10, 2014
West Wales
A lot of those cheap e bay kits are heavy direct drive motors. They are highly inefficient at low speeds with little hill climbing torque and eat batteries. What you need is a geared hub motor. All in cost for a kit with a decent sized battery capable of getting you at least one way will be between £450-650.

Fat Rat

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 7, 2018
UK
Hi welcome
I can only mirror the above
You going to need to dig a bit deeper I'm afraid

vfr400

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 12, 2011
Basildon
The cheapest battery you can get that's adequate for your requirements would ne about £180, then you have to add the cost of the motor, etc, which will add about another £200.

Some of the cheap motor kits need expensive batteries, so it's not simple. If you have an eye on a cheap kit, show us what it is so that we can explain its good and bad points.

Please don't think that this is snobbishness. Some of us have made our life's work to find cheap solutions.

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk