Newbie with stealthy e-bike

Tinkerer

Just Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Hi all. Newbie here with a standard cross bike but with a few modifications! I'm running a Vivax Assist motor inside the seat tube with the battery in the saddle bag. I've not wished to broadcast this expensive system for a number of reasons so I've changed to a Topeak saddlebag and hidden the control button inside an out front computer mount. There is cabling between the two but no casual observers seem to ever notice it.
It's a lightweight system of under 2kgs so doesn't unduly affect the characteristics of the bike. It provides a nice little boost (circa 150W at the road) rather than monster power.
Further customisation to the bike includes bottle bosses in the seat stays to resolve a manufacturing error of missing rack eyelets (if only I'd noticed before I got the motor fitted!) and a homemade quick release full length mudguard system. I can whip both 'guards on or off in around 30s!
I also dug out some old racing aero wheels and had them rebuilt onto MTB hubs. The bike flies (even without the motor!) with these beauties in! I can actually stop properly with carbon rims for the first time ever, owing to the disc brakes of course.
I've had to upgrade one or two other bits and pieces but it's really a finished project now.
Never thought I'd own an e-bike but my bad back got me looking for a little assistance.

Attachments

D8ve

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 30, 2013
Bristol
Love the bike. Stealthy and a good bike in first place. Cool

jazper53

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 20, 2012
Brighton
Maybe able to hide its electric credentials, but not its quality, which could make it very desirable to those Lycra clad Villains.

Tinkerer

Just Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Maybe able to hide its electric credentials, but not its quality, which could make it very desirable to those Lycra clad Villains.