Raleigh Motus Grand Tour Hub Gear Chain Tensioner

Saudidave

Pedelecer
Dec 28, 2018
I bought a Raleigh Motus Grand Tour, hub gear version for Xmas last year and one or two niggling assembly issues aside (now sorted) it's been a great bike, with one flaw. The chain on my 2019 model doesn't have a tensioner and tensioning the chain seems to be a relatively frequent maintenance chore. Raleigh have recognised this and the current 2020 stable of Raleigh hub gear bikes have then fitted, Centros Gates drive version aside.

After a lot of thought however, I now have a solution:

I studied the latest model Motus grand tour in a couple of bike shops, scoured ebay for an old school hanger accessory like they had on 70's 5 gear sports bikes and then after not too much searching ebay again I found what appears to be the same, or a very similar tensioner to that which Raleigh have fitted to the modified 2020 model.

I can bolt the tensioner to the inside of the right hand chainstay quite easily with two bolts utilising the existing slots in the chainstay, after filing the hanger a bit so that the curved top edge is flat and it doesn't look "stuck on" I can then bolt the tensioner to that and it should, in theory work in exactly the same way as the 2020 modification that Raleigh have adopted. I've reversed the NT washers as well now to give some further room for wheel adjustment so I'll touch up the damaged paint whilst I'm at it. I can't see any reason at all why this shouldn't work perfectly when adjusted properly so that the chain runs perfectly in line. I don't think it will be necessary, but if it does a washer to shim out one side of the hanger should sort that.

This is what Raleigh have done:

download-001.jpg

This is what I have

IMG_4118-001.jpg

This is the hanger and tensioner I'm planning to install. The tensioner is either the same or very close to the one Raleigh use. The pair were £20.00 on ebay

IMG_4119-001.jpgTensioner.jpg