Sakura Chopper build Controller help please

Wads

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 17, 2015
Hi,

I built a chopper style bike using a Sakura Shopper bike as a donor & having ridden it with no problems for about 100 miles it has developed a problem.

I’ve had no experience with electric bikes up until now so have limited knowledge & wondered if anyone could help with the following:

Where can I get a replacement controller?

I’m based in Dorset; can anyone recommend someone who could repair it for me?

The problem started initially with the bike going full throttle as soon as the battery power was turned on regardless of throttle position. Suspecting the controller I sent it off for repair only to now find the bike doesn’t run at all.

I’ve checked the throttle & brake switches, which seem fine so I’m still suspecting the controller is still at fault.

To complicate things further I used the lights, indicators & battery display unit from the Sakura & would like any new controller to be able to still run these.

I don’t know the model of the donor Sakura & have attached a picture of it in case anyone can help.

Thanks,

Wads.
photo.JPG photo 1.JPG

Stalkingcat

Pedelecer
Jan 24, 2015
Pretty much any generic ebay controller should work but you may need to figure out the hall and phase wire combination if they don't match up automatically.

What voltage is your pack and do you know how many amps you want to run to the motor? This sort of depends upon the battery you are using?

If you don't want to rely on the controller to power your lights, you could use one of these below, directly wired from your pack, to run 12v to your lights via a switch. Presuming your lights are 12v, its hard to know without details?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/251625135869?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

Wads

Feb 17, 2015
Hi,