Torque arms, my first project..

scofield

Pedelecer
Sep 12, 2021
Hi. This is my first project, I've started converting a 2nd hand Carrera Vengeance with a 1000w rear hub motor. My first concern is with the torque arms, as I can't bear the thought of the wheel coming off or the frame/motor getting wrecked, nevermind myself.

I've bought 2 of those common kits with the 2 arms to do both sides, but not sure the best way to go about it.
I'm not keen on the design of these kits, I feel it's not going to be rigid enough using 2 plates bolted together and then a jubilee clip on the frame. So without being able to make my own, I'm thinking whats the best way to use them. An idea for 1 side is to bolt 1 end of the arm to the caliper mount and then drill a hole to bolt the arms together. See the pic to see what I mean and let me know if this would be a good idea?

TorqueArm1.jpg

Top view:

top view.jpg

For the other side I'm not so sure about, I might have to use the clip like this:

TorqueArm2.jpg

Any advice / opinions appreciated

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
Yes omit the joob clip as certainly a weak link, your option is one which others have used and much better. A one piece solution is best and the two piece option is next best.

scofield

Pedelecer
Sep 12, 2021
Yes omit the joob clip as certainly a weak link, your option is one which others have used and much better. A one piece solution is best and the two piece option is next best.
I wish I had a 1 piece method, I'm not sure how I could do it, not bothered if it's a bit ugly.

Also, whats with those torque washers that come with the kit? surely the tooth is meant to sit inside the dropout? it would have to go down about 6mm to get there.

vfr400

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 12, 2011
Basildon