Help! 1st E-Bike, need help choosing

Dan90

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 2, 2023
Hi all,

Wanting to buy an e-bike for the work commute, about 5 miles, lots of potholes, steep hills and a short trail through some woods.

Things that might help.
Budget up to £4000 but ideally less and looking to purchase through a Cycle to Work scheme. I'm 5"11 and about 75kgs.

I've looked at the E MOVEMENT THUNDER V4.2, MULTITRACKS X1B, YOIKOTO E-SUMMIT, SPECIALIZED Tero 3.0 2022, TREK Marlin +6 2024.

But as it's my first time looking into e-bikes I've no idea if these are junk or decent value for money. Then there's what's legal and not so legal.

Recently had a go on a friends e-bike, just a cheap one from Amazon but it was a lot of fun with the throttle, really liked that, are those legal? Cause I'd love to find something I can just crank the throttle on the hills and breeze up them.

I have a lot of research to do but thought I'd ask here to try get some thoughts, maybe save me a bit of time.

Peter.Bridge

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 19, 2023
Hi all,

Wanting to buy an e-bike for the work commute, about 5 miles, lots of potholes, steep hills and a short trail through some woods.

Things that might help.
Budget up to £4000 but ideally less and looking to purchase through a Cycle to Work scheme. I'm 5"11 and about 75kgs.

I've looked at the E MOVEMENT THUNDER V4.2, MULTITRACKS X1B, YOIKOTO E-SUMMIT, SPECIALIZED Tero 3.0 2022, TREK Marlin +6 2024.

But as it's my first time looking into e-bikes I've no idea if these are junk or decent value for money. Then there's what's legal and not so legal.

Recently had a go on a friends e-bike, just a cheap one from Amazon but it was a lot of fun with the throttle, really liked that, are those legal? Cause I'd love to find something I can just crank the throttle on the hills and breeze up them.

I have a lot of research to do but thought I'd ask here to try get some thoughts, maybe save me a bit of time.