2012 Juicy Bike Sport review

Ryan220

Just Joined
May 31, 2012
Reviewer: Ryan

Purchased From: Eco Republic

Purchase Price: £850 Delivered (Cyclescheme)

Time Owned:1 month

Local Terrain: Moderate Hills / Very Hilly in places

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Strengths:

Great price
Good build quality
Great customer service
Good ride quality
Distinctive looks
Good hill climb ability

Weaknesses:

Seat post/ battery interference
Saddle removal for battery access

Summary:

A great, great bike

See below for full review

Overall Rating (out of 10) : 9.5

Hello all

I thought I might share my thoughts on my new Juicy Bike Sport that I recently purchased on Cyclescheme.

I’ve been a cyclist for many years and my current stable consists of a Specialized Sirrus Expert and a Trek Fuel EX8. I carry out all my own repairs and servicing. I am of course no expert, but then I am no beginner either. This will hopefully give you a little insight into my perspective during this review

My requirement.

I wanted a bike for a 16 mile round trip commute to reduce my fuel costs - my car has rather poor fuel economy.
My journey undulates the entire way, with one very steep 1 mile climb and several minor climbs.
A worsening long term back injury has made cycling a sometimes uncomfortable experience so a pedelec seemed a good choice to reduce the load on my aching joints.

Why a Juicy Sport?

I liked the style – it has a very distinctive frame which appealed to me.
Price – it looked very well specced for its price point.

My expectations from a Pedelec?

For me this was simple - I wanted to be able to ride a bike to work for a few days each week without my back problem flaring up and not have to spend those days at work wondering if my legs were going to fall off because they were aching so much.

Initial impressions

The bike arrived on the day that Juicy said it would with no problems in a big sturdy undamaged box.