A trekking mtb. Do they exist?

Nandewar

Finding my (electric) wheels
May 23, 2017
Australia
I am a long way from a bike shop. Seven hours by car. I have been riding a Koga Traveller for many years but am moving to a rather hilly rural area and am looking at switching to an e bike.

I like the trekking bike style but would also like to be able to explore some of the logging tracks and National Park access tracks in the mountains around my new home. Maybe carry a tent and some food for an over nighter. I also need to be able to ride the 50 km round trip to town with panniers.

Taking anything for a test ride is difficult. Having a very short list of potential bikes would make it much easier. Does anyone have any suggestions for a bike that will tick the boxes?

• Informative
Reactions: LeighPing

Mac_user82

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jul 16, 2014
i would seriously look into booking a holiday somewhere local to a few e-bike shops and haven a good look around and trying out all different style of bikes on the market which one might suit one will not suit another one

Nobody on the forum can really suggest a bike for you at all really because they won't be able to give that feel that you would get from the bike at all and everyone has different preferences.

To narrow it down a bit

* how much are you willing to spend
* how often are you doing to use it

Most e-bikes will tick your boxes but it down to your preference some are going to be better then others

I personally like the Bosch e-bikes and i have ridden on it for 2 years and enjoy riding it

• Informative

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
I like the trekking bike style but would also like to be able to explore some of the logging tracks and National Park access tracks in the mountains around my new home. Maybe carry a tent and some food for an over nighter. I also need to be able to ride the 50 km round trip to town with panniers.
I would recommend the Woosh Bermuda: