Help! Advice on this conversion kit ?

kilo-echo

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 5, 2019
I've ordered a front wheel conversion kit from China. A friend advised me against installing a front hub motor on an aluminum suspension fork, slightly late because my kit arrives in a few days

this is my 2013 bike - https://bit.ly/2lG6Hvu
this is the kit from china - https://bit.ly/2k1ELlz
this is the battery from china - https://bit.ly/2lE16Go

I'm not a mechanic, if I do need to replace the fork I will seek out a local repair shop. Any advice greatly appreciated. I'm in the UK.

sjpt

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2018
Winchester
Those high power direct drive motors aren't very efficient, but can give quite a kick. I would definitely make sure you fit torque arms whatever front forks you have. Try it with those and see how it goes, but go gently. You may find the handling a bit awkward; the motor is probably a pretty heavy rotating mass.

Reactions: kilo-echo

kilo-echo

Sep 5, 2019
thanks, I will be trying the suspension fork first adding a torque arm on each side if possible, any advice on which ones to buy in the UK appreciated, most of them don't look too sturdy ?

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
I hope you are not too disappointed with the front D/D kit, they are heavy hubs and might be bit of a hand full and will make your suspension forks feel heavy.
Tbh you will be better with steel forks, ali fork dropouts even with T/A's will eventually crack so make sure the T/A's are secure and not by jubilee clips.

A geared rear hub motor like the Akiema Q128c would have been a better motor, a 48v 260rpm one with 22/25a controller would give as much if not more power then the D/D and also have better climbing ability.

vfr400

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 12, 2011
Basildon
Are you sure the forks are aluminium? The ones in the photo look like steel. Test them with a magnet if you're not sure.