**** ADVICE PLEASE - Building my own Pedelec ???? ****

bilabonic

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 20, 2013
Hi guys planning on making my own pedelec and this site looks like the place to bbe, been reading loads on here and learnt a LOT already.

I do not like the 'look' of purpose made electric bikes BUT was nearly swayed by a Tonaro !!!

Bugdet about a £1000, VERY handy with soldering/engineering and have access to a lot of equipment as i'm an Electrical Engineer. I was brought up with a soldering iron and have plenty of heatshrink/buy waterprrof connectors etc.

Want it to go faster than 15mph (i could fit a restrictor if needed/law checks).

I will be using as a commute bike of around 25 miles in total mainly flat BUT with one steep hill as i get home for about 500m that kills me !!!!!!

Being a keen cyclist i find it crazy seeing Hardtails being used as a base bike as would not dream off usually riding one on road only, but smaller wheels/more torque i presume.

Looking at this as base bike -

Rockrider 5.3 Mountain Bike, White B'TWIN - All Bikes - On sale at Decathlon.co.uk

Want rear drive.

Been looking at these kits -

Q11 48V1KW REAR Driving E-Bike Conversion Kit. - BMSBATTERY

Mac Rear 500/1000W Pick'n'Mix Kit

Or should i go for a Hybrid with 700c wheels as i am on road at all time.

I currently ride a Felt F55 Dura Ace 53cm, Spesh Epic Carbon Comp MTB 18" and my commute i plan to replace/use in conjunction with Pedelec is a 54cm Cube Cyclocross with discs.

I want to make it OEM as possible and hide all cable etc, machine parts if necessary.

Cheers

amigafan2003

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jul 12, 2011
The Q11 motors are direct drive - have a think if that's what you really want.

D

Deleted member 4366

Did you see Saneagle's Kraken. If not do a search for "Kraken Build" to find it.