best e bike to derestrict and add throttle

ollie_chapppppp

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jun 11, 2023
im new to electric bikes and im in the uk so no legal bikes can have more than 250w and the battery cant power above 15.5mph
so my question is whats an e bike that suits that and can easily be derestricted and add a throttle to it

any help would be amazing as im very much out of my depth here

saneagle

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 10, 2010
Telford
im new to electric bikes and im in the uk so no legal bikes can have more than 250w and the battery cant power above 15.5mph
so my question is whats an e bike that suits that and can easily be derestricted and add a throttle to it

any help would be amazing as im very much out of my depth here
Thr best ones are the cheapest ones that you find on Amazon or Ebay. Many can be derestricted by setting the top speed in the LCD. When the battery expires, upgrade to a 48v one with a new controller to get 30% more power and speed.

soundwave

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 23, 2015
bbs bafang mid drive motors

soundwave

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 23, 2015

ollie_chapppppp

Jun 11, 2023

ollie_chapppppp

Jun 11, 2023
Thr best ones are the cheapest ones that you find on Amazon or Ebay. Many can be derestricted by setting the top speed in the LCD. When the battery expires, upgrade to a 48v one with a new controller to get 30% more power and speed.
it says its max speed is 15.5 mph and theres no way to get above that without a new battery?

saneagle

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 10, 2010
Telford
It looks like parameter 8 is the speed limit setting at 1:04
From an Ebay listing:
"*The M5 setting is including battery power button,front light button,6 km/h walking,wheel diameter setting,Max speed setting,sleep time,back light and voltage setting "

soundwave

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 23, 2015
it depends on the discharge rate a bosch batt is rated for 20A if you tried to pull 50a it would explode.