Best electric bike for 38 y.o. female with heart disease

pennylane

Just Joined
Oct 19, 2010
Norways
Hello!

I'm very new to electric bikes, and most of the posts here are so technical that I have no idea what they're talking about. I hope someone can help me :eek:
I used to be a professional athlete but 10 years ago I developed a heart disease that has stopped me from doing any kind of exercise more strenuous than walking. I live in Norway, so hilly and windy, and therefore resigned myself to no longer being able to bike. Until I recently read an article regarding electric bikes!

I would very much appreciate some advice on the type of bikes recommended for someone like me. Perhaps if I jot down some important points and wishes, it might be easier:

1) I can't push my heartrate much above 120 bpm - in other words, I need a bike that can always give me quite a bit of power

2) I have no need to go very fast, but snailspace does get boring.

3) I won't need it to last more than about 60-90 minutes per trip.

4) I have absolutely no technical talent, so the kits people write about are out of the question (I'm the type of person who will describe my car in terms of size and colour...) It needs to be simple and easy to use, and no assembly needed on my part.

5) I love biking on paths and gravel etc, but won't need for very off road terrain.

6) Budget is flexible - max 2500 pounds(ish)

7) Weight is an important factor - I would prefer as light as possible as there will occasionally be necessary to lift it, and if it's too heavy...well...I'd have to leave it...and I assume I might sometimes have to push it uphill if too steep?

Am I being too optimistic that I will once again be able to move from A to B without having to take my car?

I would most appreciate feedback :)

Penny

lowranger

Pedelecer
Sep 10, 2008
Hello!

Hi. You will Definatly find a bike that will do what you need in your price range, just vist the links from this site alone will give a massive choi e