Commuting bike for 50 mile round trip

asc99c

Pedelecer
May 1, 2015
Hi all!

I'm looking to start cycling to work this summer, primarily for fitness but it'll also be nice to save the daily £5 fuel cost. It's a 25 mile each way journey, and although I did manage a 27 mile trail ride last summer it took me nearly 3 hours on my old mountain bike!

So I'm looking for something reliable and reasonably fast. I've already got a mountain bike so this one would be a dedicated road bike. I like the look of the KTM Macina range but they're all fairly heavy. I also like the look of the Cytronex bikes, but I suspect there's not enough battery given my weight and mileage, plus I'd prefer a crank drive (bearing in mind I've never actually ridden either type!)

I'm new to the Pedelec world so thought I'd ask for suggestions. One category of bike I've seen very little of is drop handled road bikes. Cytronex can equip a SuperSix but they don't advertise the price, which probably means it's more than I'd want to spend :) hopefully under £2000.

Thanks

Andy

Deus

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 18, 2014
Dewsbury
Hi Andy,
A 50 mile round trip in my opinion is too far for a daily commute for an e-bike i dont know your fitness level but you will soon get fed up of that kind of mileage every day,you will also have to charge your battery at work for the return journey just to be sure, maybe you should consider a 50cc moped ?

asc99c

Pedelecer
May 1, 2015
Yeah fairly ambitious for sure! I've got a friend doing the same commute on a regular bike (well a carbon TT bike, but unassisted). He's in better shape than me, but I reckon it's doable. Takes him around 1:30 each way which is amazing as it takes me an hour by car. I'm hoping that timewise it works out similar to my current commute plus time spent at the gym.

jonathan75

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 24, 2013
Hertfordshire