e-bikes for mountains

Timbo47

Finding my (electric) wheels
Oct 8, 2016
Northants
Hi Folks... I'm totally new to the world of e-bikes and in dire need of some sound advice please. I'm 47 and 5'7" and my better half is 4'11", we're moving to N.Wales and would love to have a pair of e-bikes that will help us get up some of the mountainous terrain for some much needed excercise and sight-seeing. The GTECH bike is what sparked my interest in e-bikes originally, but I soon realised it was pretty far removed from the spec that we need. Options for my wife seem quote limited due to her hobbit-like proportions, and I'm confused as to whether 250w motors with around 400-500Kwh batteries are strong enough to go several miles up some fairly serious inclines. Also I'm unsure if crank drive as opposed to hub makes a 250w more capable of achieving this, or if a 500w would be needed in any case. There don't seem to be many 500w options except for the Volt Bigfoot, which looks like it would be great for off-road mountains and sand dunes etc. Shimano steps would be ideal for the missus as she's not particularly keen on using manual multi-gear setups, but it's not essential. All advice and any suggestions would be very much appreciated, as after researching several manufacturers offerings I feel quite lost in the wilderness of available e-bike options and specifications.
Thanks!

• Informative
Reactions: LeighPing

trex

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 15, 2011
one solution for your wife is a folding bike.
Smaller wheels give better torque with the same motor.
One important consideration is weight. How heavy are you both?

D

Deleted member 4366