E tricycle advise needed please.

Adwb

Finding my (electric) wheels
Dec 2, 2022
I am looking at a tricycle with either 250 watt mid or hub drive.
The retailer says the hub drive is better for hills as it is cadence controlled and the lack of strain on the chain drive.
I have a lot of 12 degree both short and long climbs in my area.
Both options have the Shimano 7 speed Gear hub and a fairly useless 6mph maximum thumb throttle .
Thoughts any one on this ?

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
The retailer says the hub drive is better for hills as it is cadence controlled and the lack of strain on the chain drive.
Hub drives do not stress the chain but crank drives are much better at low speed (less than 10mph), especially if your tricycle does not have a rear differential which helps keep the tricycle stable when cornering.
Crank drives don't loose torque at low speed like hub drives, you retain full control of power. Furthermore, hub drives on tricycles are usually on the front wheel, crank drives power the back wheels, which give you better traction.
I suggest you convert a tricycle with a Bafang BBS01 kit.

Adwb

Dec 2, 2022
Hub drives do not stress the chain but crank drives are much better at low speed (less than 10mph), especially if your tricycle does not have a rear differential which helps keep the tricycle stable when cornering.
Crank drives don't loose torque at low speed like hub drives, you retain full control of power. Furthermore, hub drives on tricycles are usually on the front wheel, crank drives power the back wheels, which give you better traction.
I suggest you convert a tricycle with a Bafang BBS01 kit.
Thank you , I am less concerned with uphill speed and more with the amount of effort required to be honest. The hub version is on the front wheel and both versions have a differential.