ebay ebike kit good or bad choice

stevebills

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 14, 2010
I am new to electric bikes,, and as i already have a Gary Fisher mtb i bought off my mate,, I would like to fit a electric kit to it and my weight is 19 stone so wat power would i need and are the cheap kits on ebay ok to use and are most kits out there from china?:confused:
Thanks Steve

NRG

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 6, 2009
Welcome to the forum. Yes most kits are from China. On Ebay choose with care, 250w is the legal nominal power limit in the UK....in use the motors deliver far higher peak power so don't let it put you off. Avoid direct drive motors, they are very heavy, very had to pedal unassisted and watt for watt deliver less hill climbing torque than their geared cousins. Look for geared brushless motor kits. Setting a budget is a good idea and don't skimp on the battery, Ping make a very good battery and some members here have found a low cost battery available from Ebay that seems to be working OK from the first reports.

Search the forum for Sunlova as some have had good results with this kit also check out Alien Ocean up in Scotland as they supply some very well thought out kits....remember you only get what you pay for in general and some of the seemingly tempting low price kits on Ebay are more trouble than they are worth.....

D

Deleted member 4366