ebike for 50yr old and 3yr old toddler

robindahood

Just Joined
Aug 17, 2022
I'm new to ebikes and biking in general, haven't ridden since childhood.
I'm looking to go bike riding with the kids, have a 3 yr old toddler looking to get a toddler seat on the top bar so has a good view ahead and not stuck behind.

Type of riding will be country parks, scenic places and roads for general getting about and keeping fit. Some of the roads and country parks have hills.

I understand torque is a key thing to look for - would 60Nm+ be minimum I should be looking at?

The whole bike components just confuse me so don't know what are decent specs.

I've got a budget of around £2,000 - can stretch to £2,500 if need be. But ideally, the lower cost the better :)

Also what happens when batteries and motors fail - how easy are they to replace?

I think it's better to get detachable battery - if it dies, can at least replace it rather than those builtin types.

Any suggestions please?

Thanks.

sjpt

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2018
Winchester
Unless the country parks are somewhere like the peaks with really steep hills a less powerful motor than 60mn should be fine. Removable battery is good for replacement, carrying spare if you want really long rides, and for charging (especially in winter if the bike is kept outside, never charge below freezing, preferably quite a bit above).

I suggest as a first look https://wooshbikes.co.uk/?camino. All standard easily replaced parts. I'm not sure what the torque on its motor is, though. If you go for something like a Bosch system bike any fixes or replacements come very expensive.

Reactions: robindahood

egroover

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 12, 2016
UK
If you are looking to use a toptube kid seat, then the mounting bars may interfere with the downtube battery, so it might be worth looking at bikes with a rear rack battery, something like this

robindahood

Just Joined
Aug 17, 2022