First thoughts - Powabyke X-6

gbeton

Finding my (electric) wheels
Dec 16, 2009
All,

Firstly, sorry if this is posted in the wrong place, I am new to electric bikes and to this forum.

So, I have finally taken delivery of my powabyke X-6 which is my first electric bike and my first bike for over 20 years. Just to give you all a heads up, I am grossly unfit, a heavy smoker, inherantly lazy, overweight and I am looking to ease myself into some regular exercise (cycling to work 13 miles away).

I have been out for the last three hours testing my my new powabyke and I am very pleased to say that I found the experience (even given the cold and saddle soreness) an entirely pleasureable one.I went out over various gradients and found that the powabyke coped with them with ease. I used the pedal assist mode for my testing (pure power made it take off like a rocket!). In all, during my test, I covered just about 7 miles and averaged a very pleasing 14 mph (measured by GPS on my iphone). Take into consideration that the weight the powabyke was coping with was only a couple of kilos under it's max permitted weight (according to the handbook).

The good main points I found were:
1) Ease of use of the throttle and the responsiveness of the bike to this
2) The sturdiness and quality of the construction
3) The brakes seem extremely responsive
4) The "Pure Power" mode - the bike just seems to "take off"!
5) The pannier frame and accessories
6) Frank Currans helpfulness and that of the team from Powabyke

The initial bad points:
1) Pedalling without power feels like you have the brakes on (but that may be because I found the throttle so easy)
2) There needs to be some higher gears on it (should it be an X-8?) when applying full throttle my legs couldn't keep up! (I didn't get an X-24 because I need the shorter frame and the X-24 is only available with a 21" frame)
3) Having to leave the key in the ignition when cycling